Doffers’ Theatre of the Unconscious #2

It’s time for my second installment of Doffers aka The D-Man’s dreams in comic form, now IN COLOUR with even more ANTARCTIC DWELLING CREATURES! Although I have a terrible eye for colour, looking at the super-vibrant work of the incredible Dan Hipp inspired me to at least add a little bit of colour to this one. This comic takes place at night, which also allowed me to keep it simple and muted. Click the image for a larger view.

I was told specifically that it was the Danny DeVito version of The Penguin from Tim Burton’s Batman Returns so that’s who I tried to depict, but turning it down a few notches on the creepy factor. 

Thumbnails, pencil sketch, completed inks, and notes after the jump. Thanks for looking and see you next week.

After hearing about this dream last week I knew it had to be the next one I drew, I love the image of a lovesick Oswald Chesterfield Cobblepot. I originally thought it should be a quick 3 panel job with narration boxes, but last night the design of a wordless 5 panel comic materialised pretty much fully formed in my head, just as I was drifting off to sleep. So the light goes back on and I grab my pencils. Two minutes later thumbnails/layout is done.

Messy, I know, but works for me. Half an hour and a quick google search of Danny DeVito photos later, and pencils are done. Uncharacteristically quick and easy for me, allowing me to get back to bed in no time.

I’ve been reading David Chelsea‘s Perspective! For Comic Book Artists which proved useful straight away as I used some of the lessons in the production of the 4th panel. The last time I remember actually studying perspective was in my year 9 (age 13) art class so I really need to brush up.

Earlier today inks were completed and this is probably where I changed my approach most from last time. I feel that in #1 I inked in a very careful manner so everything came out accurately but it lacked character. So this time I went more quickly and roughly and I’m happier with the results.

Then straight into Photoshop for colouring (basic paintbucket tool and lightness adjustment) and done.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Doffers’ Theatre of the Unconscious #2

Leave a Reply

